The Brian Johnson Outstanding Service Award is awarded yearly at the State Career Development Conference to the Alumni member who goes above and beyond to serve Michigan Alumni DECA to the highest standard. It is the highest honor given to an alumni member.

Brian was a former District 4 representative and Alumni member. He was the most dedicated, hard working, and likable individual imaginable. If you ever needed something done, Brian would do it. After his tragic death in a car accident in 1994, Michigan Alumni DECA created this award in his name and memory.

Ramsey A’Ve presenting recipient Rosalind Dixon with the Brian Johnson Award at the 2017 State Conference

Do you know someone who should receive this year’s Brian Johnson award? Send their name and your rationale to Michael Parr at

Award Recipients

2020 – Christopher Pollum, Utica Eisenhower High School
2019 – Stephen Hershfield, Midland Dow H.H. High School
2017 – Rosalind Dixon, Woodhaven High School
2014 – Michael Parr, Lincoln Park High School
2013 – Laykyn Owczarzak, Bay Arenac ISD Career Center
2012 – Rob Clark, Mona Shores High School
2011 – Chad Sturdavant, Big Rapids High School
2010 – Peter Strong, Midland High School
2009 – Laura Radloff, Saline High School
2008 – Sean Warren, Westland John Glenn High School
2007 – Cathy Nichols, Clio High School
2006 – Brad Schmidt, Wyandotte Roosevelt High School
2005 – Jason Whiteson, Milford High School
2004 – Jeremy Smith, Three Rivers High School
2003 – Amanda Carrigan, Heritage High School
2002 – Tim Carrigan, Brighton High School
2001 – Jody McKinley, Branch Area Career Center
2000 – John Farrand, Branch Area Career Center
1999 – Tena Fraley, Capital Area Career Center
1998 – Dave Wait, Oxford High School
1997 – Rahnda Jaquays, Jenison High School
1996 – Chris Polack, Capital Area Career Center
1995 – Tim Chittenden, LISD TECH Center